Mr. B and the S Family | St. Cloud Minnesota Family and Child Photographer

December 30, 2010

You know how I can tell I’m growing as a photographer? When I go back and edit each session, and the most recent session becomes my favorite. Meaning, each time I do a session, I like it better than the one before. To me, it shows that my skills are continually getting better, and that’s a good thing. It keeps me from getting bored and my art becoming stale.

When mom Alanna asked me to do her family photos for their Christmas cards, I had just the solution in mind. Seeing as how she’s a fellow photographer, we worked out a little deal… Alanna photographed my family, and I photographed hers. Easy peasy lemon squeezy. Plus, she has this ADORABLE little boy who just oozes cuteness… how could I possibly say no?! So she had this image in mind, where we photographed Mr. B next to mom and dad’s feet. Mission accomplished. But we continued to take a few more photographs, including some outdoors. Luckily, they had the perfect setup in their backyard – some hay bales tucked behind some tall pine trees. Of course, we had gotten a few inches of fresh snow just the day before, and big fat snowflakes continued to fall during the session. It was the perfect backdrop. Did I mention how much I love her houndstooth jacket? Seriously, it’s like this session was where everything just fell into place. Well, other than the fact that it was about 5 degrees that day. Oh the things we do for the perfect picture!

Anyway, I love how this session turned out. And as sessions go, it was sooo quick and easy. Mr. B was cooperative as ever, and mom and dad participated enthusiastically. (Sometimes dads can be a bit reluctant, but not this guy!) Plus, the cute fashion… what more could I ask for?

 

Thanks guys for asking me to do your family portraits this year. I had a great time, and I am sooo in love with the photos we got! You are such a photogenic bunch – it was my treat to come and work with you!

Leave a Reply

